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Influencer marketing CPM:
How to calculate it & optimize influencer ROI

Influencer types you need to know - from nano to mega

Influencer marketing CPM is an important metric used to measure the cost-effectiveness of your influencer campaigns. If you're wondering how to get the most value out of your influencer collaborations, understanding CPM benchmarks is the first step.

Published 2025-05-13

Two persons looking at graphs and data
Two persons looking at graphs and data
Two persons looking at graphs and data

Evaluate your influencer ROI with CPM and make smarter decisions

CPM: Cost per thousand impressions in influencer marketing

Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) gives marketers a clear view of how much they pay for every 1,000 impressions generated by influencers. It's an essential performance indicator that helps you evaluate influencer ROI and make smarter investment decisions. However, it is always important to keep your campaign objectives and strategy in mind in order to ensure that you are actually looking at the relevant KPIs. If you are working with creators for content generation only for instance, measuring influencer marketing CPM might not be as relevant. 

UNderstanding benchmark CPM and how it varies across social media platforms

Influencer CPM benchmarks by platform and influencer type

What’s a good CPM for influencer marketing? As always, it depends. Influencer CPM benchmarks can vary widely depending on the platform (e.g., Instagram, TikTok, YouTube), the influencer size (nano to mega), influencer niche, and target audience.

Here are some general influencer CPM benchmarks:

  • Instagram: €5–15 per 1,000 impressions

  • TikTok: €10–25 per 1,000 impressions

  • YouTube: €20–50 per 1,000 impressions

These benchmarks help marketers compare influencer pricing and assess their value before actually committing to a budget.

How to calculate influencer CPM

The formula for calculating influencer CPM is simple:

CPM = (Total budget / Impressions) x 1,000

Let’s say you pay €1,000 for a campaign that results in 200,000 impressions:

CPM = (1000 / 200,000) x 1000 = €5

Use this metric to compare influencers and easily forecast your campaign efficiency.

Influencer CPM vs. other influencer pricing models

In addition to CPM, influencers may base the pricing of their content on:

  • Flat fees 

  • Cost per engagement (CPE)

  • Cost per acquisition (CPA)

Each model has its pros and cons, but CPM is one of the most transparent in terms of measuring reach and how cost-effective it is.

Factors that influence the influencer marketing CPM

As mentioned, there are several elements that affect influencer CPM, including:

  • Follower quality and engagement rate

  • Content quality and production value

  • Niche saturation and demand

  • Geographic targeting

Always compare the influencer CPM together with these qualitative factors to ensure you’re making a well-rounded decision.

Keep track of your influencer cpm and be all set for success

Track and optimize your influencer CPM with CIMS

Understanding and calculating influencer CPM is just the beginning. What truly drives results is being able to track it across every campaign, platform and creator. With CIMS, you can monitor CPM in real time, compare performance across social media channels, and make smarter, data-driven decisions for your influencer strategy.

A computer showing different graphs and metrics from CIMS - Influencer marketing ROI
A computer showing different graphs and metrics from CIMS - Influencer marketing ROI
A computer showing different graphs and metrics from CIMS - Influencer marketing ROI

FAQ

How do you calculate ROI for influencer marketing?

How do you calculate ROI for influencer marketing?

How do you calculate ROI for influencer marketing?

How do you calculate CPM in influencer marketing?

How do you calculate CPM in influencer marketing?

How do you calculate CPM in influencer marketing?

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How do you measure the effectiveness of influencer marketing?

How do you measure the effectiveness of influencer marketing?

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